We slept in again today. The man was not excited to be doing GAPS this morning. I think he wanted his franks. He said that he doesn’t feel any different. I said, well it’s only been a week and what are you really missing from your diet except crap? He didn’t appreciate that comment, lol. I rephrased it to, what are you missing from your diet except pop, chips and processed food? (Crap). He took some GABA today. I probably should have too, but my irritability passed in a couple of hours. We took a short break while he ate his eggs then talked about why we are doing this. I am going to write an in depth post about why, but it’s basically so we don’t have to self medicate with supplements to feel normal. I had broth with an egg yolk for breaky. No reaction.
I did a thorough cleaning of the kitchen with the boy and the man did the garbages, recycling, and worked on his homework. We were expecting to have dinner with one of my sisters and her family, but it didn’t work out. She is following the diet in the book ‘the mood cure’ which is basically paleo. She said she wouldn’t be able to do GAPS, but I think she could. The intro isn’t forever and after that, it’s pretty much her diet now. I made stuffed peppers for dinner. They were delish!
We introduced melons this evening. It’s way too hard not to have any fruit. We have had no negative reaction to the melon, only the positive reaction of joyful juiciness at each mouthful.
Also, somehow, I lost 5 lbs this week. I’m not sure how. I must be, finally, giving my body what it needs.

Stuffed peppers
2 lbs ground beef
2 lbs carrots shredded
1 large onion chopped
1 head cauliflower riced
5 large tomatoes chopped
2cups chopped mushrooms
1-3 T Cumin
Salt and pepper
Peppers

Sauté onion in broth until translucent, 10 mins, add ground beef and more broth if needed. Cook the beef, covered, until cooked through. Add carrots, mushrooms, and tomatoes. Add more broth if needed. Prep peppers by coring them. Add riced cauliflower and spices to taste. Stuff peppers and bake at 350 until peppers are soft. Yum! You can add any veg you want. My filling filled 7 peppers.

