Tags

, ,

So, it’s been a couple of weeks. Moving through the intro went really quickly. We finished adding the last foods at about 24 days. Things got too busy and I got too tired to stay up and write. I will be doing some updates on our journey and posting recipes for the full GAPS Diet from now on. I don’t think I’ll go back and do recipes for the intro again as they were really bland and not as delicious as I usually produce. Now that I can introduce more spices and am introducing more ingredients, meals will be much more flavourful.
I wanted to write this post about what changes have occurred so far physically and mentally for the man and I and I’ve already gotten off track! So, here we go:
I have lost a total of 12 lbs. My body is almost 20 lbs less than it was before I conceived in 2012. Pretty awesome. I am a nursing mother so my weight fluctuates depending on where I am in the feeding cycle. I injured my knee a couple of months ago and it wasn’t healing. I no longer have pain in my knee and I have full mobility back. For the past couple of years the joints in my hands and feet were achy in the mornings, they aren’t anymore. No bloating, little gas, and no stomach aches or head aches.
The most awesome thing that has changed is that I have not needed my inhaler for the past two weeks! I have had asthma since I was in grade 5. About 12 years ago I got my first twice daily steroid inhaler and I’ve been on it ever since. I had weened myself down to once a day in the past year, but some days it was a huge struggle to breath and I had a pretty major asthma attack at least once a month. I realized, five days ago, I hadn’t taken my inhaler in a week. I am still in shock. I’ve been vigorously exercising and no asthma. I haven’t tried snugging my kitties, but maybe tomorrow I will. I just don’t know what to say. I hope this is a permanent outcome.
Emotionally, I feel great. I still feel stress and anxiety, but it doesn’t feel like I need to run from it anymore. I just feel good. I am still snappy sometimes, and I yell at poor drivers in the car, but they are normal things that happen and not how I feel all the time. It’s like I feel normal now. I don’t feel like I’m struggling to keep my head above the water anymore, or that I need a break from life. I feel way more in control of my life and the future even though nothing has changed in my circumstance.
The man says he feels less puffy and bloated. His joints feel good. He has a bum shoulder and his mobility has increased in it; it would get even better if he would stretch, but one battle at a time here.
He has been happier and more at ease lately, especially since he bought into the philosophy. He said he took a GABA yesterday to see how he felt on it and he said he didn’t notice any change in how he felt. He said he still feels everything he felt before, it’s just not that big of a deal anymore. It’s not as intense and the feelings don’t last as long. In general he has positive feelings with the old negative feeling coming and going.
So far, this has been an amazing healing journey. We are adding a few ingredients on a week to help create a more balanced diet and we are watching our symptoms to make sure no food is recreating any symptom we have eliminated. We have added a lot of fruit and fresh veg because we really missed the fresh foods!
We haven’t added any sweets or backed good so far, but I am going to make some muffins tomorrow and gobble them all up! I will keep you updated!

